Herman has arrived…!

2

May 25, 2012 by fitchicksoon

Hey all,

After reading a guest blog post on meals and moves about how well Kristen did on the Jamie Eason LiveFit Program, I have decided to start that today, with amazing pictures of before and after it was a no brainer!.

Today’s workout was Chest & Triceps

  • Wide Pushup (standard or on knees): 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Dumbbell or Barbell Bench Press: 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Flat Bench Cable Flyes: 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Narrow Pushup (standard or on knees): 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Overhead Triceps Dumbbell Extension: 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Triceps Pushdowns: 3 sets of 12 reps

My arms felt very week at the end of the session, so I know I worked them hard! Hope they come back to life for my client in an hour as I am massaging!

Herman who??

Earlier today I got an Facebook message from Vicky (a friend from the gym) to ask “would I like a Herman?”

Well I wasn’t really sure what it was, so Googled it first so as not to look stupid and it’s a German friendship cake, that you get given a tub or jar of yeasty mixture and a set of instructions on how to look after “Herman”.

Vicky told me when I picked him up that I was on Day 1 so the instructions was like this:-

Hello, my name is Herman.

I am a sourdough cake. I’m supposed to sit on your worktop for 10 days without a lid on.

You CANNOT put me in the fridge or I will die. If I stop bubbling, I am dead.

Day1: Put me in a large mixing bowl and cover loosely with a tea towel.
Day 2: Stir well
Day 3: Stir well
Day 4: Herman is hungry. Add 1 cup each of plain flour, sugar and milk. Stir well.
Day 5: Stir well
Day 6: Stir well
Day 7: Stir well
Day 8: Stir well
Day 9: Add the same as day 4 and stir well. Divide into 4 equal portions and give away to friends with a copy of these instructions. Keep the fourth portion.
Day 10: Now you are ready to make the cake. Stir well and add the following:

1 cup of sugar (8oz or 225g)
2 cups plain flour (10oz or 300g)
half tsp. (teaspoon) salt
2/3 (two thirds) cup of cooking oil (5.3oz or 160ml)
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla essence
2 cooking apples cut into chunks
1 cup raisins (7oz or 200g)
2 heaped tsp. cinnamon
2 heaped tsp. baking powder

Mix everything together and put into a large greased baking tin. Sprinkle with a quarter of a cup of brown sugar and a quarter of a cup of melted butter.

Bake for 45 minutes at 170‐180C. You may need to cover in tin foil and bake for a further 20 minutes to make sure your Herman is done in the middle.

When cold cut into finger pieces. The cake freezes well and is also delicious warm with cream or ice‐cream.

Well I have done my day one instructions, and he does smell very yeasty and bubbling nicely, so will let you know how we get on during the next 10 days.

After I put Herman into his new home for the next 10 days I did a little internet search and there is a website about all things “Herman” http://www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com/, you can even search were the latest Herman is!

Questions:

Have you had a Herman before, if so how did it turn out?

2 thoughts on “Herman has arrived…!

  1. janetha says:

    Can’t wait to see how LiveFit goes for yoU!

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
