Smith Machine – Love it or Hate it?

1

June 14, 2012 by fitchicksoon

In todays LiveFit training, one of the exercises was the wide stance barbell squat.

As I have weak wrists and wanted to lift heavier than 20kgs which is my max weight   barbell I can lift onto my shoulders for squats. I decided to use the Smith Machine (we don’t have a squat rack), the only people I see using this is men at my gym, so was a little bit conscious of myself when I was doing my squats.

I am not sure if I like the machine, I have only used it twice before so it might be something that I need to get used to, but when you use barbell’s normally for squats, it feels more natural, and the movement of the smith machine is up and down in a straight line.

Maybe just need more practice!.

Today’s workout was this (Day 10 Legs/Calves) :-

Leg Press: 3 sets of 12 reps
Leg Extensions: 3 sets of 12 reps
Wide Stance Barbell Squat: 3 sets of 12 reps
Seated Leg Curl: 3 sets of 12 reps
Standing Calf Raises: 3 sets of 12 reps
Seated Calf Raises: 3 sets of 12 reps

Q: Is there are machine that you don’t like using?


Q: Do you like the Smith Machine?

One thought on “Smith Machine – Love it or Hate it?

  1. Raeesa says:

    I tried the Smith Machine once, after which I tried regular squat rack. I never went back. There is something very awkward about the machine squat. I guess it’s either/or, but I wouldn’t rule it out completely. Makes me wonder if doing a static lunge would be easier using the machine.

    I’m kind of neutral on weight machines. They have their uses. If my hip is acting up, I’ll skip the squat rack and use leg curls/extensions.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
