Overnight Oats

7

June 18, 2012 by fitchicksoon

Last night I decided to make overnight oats after seeing them on Peanut Butter Fingers, I had been looking for a recipe to use my new Chia seeds, as I know they are a “superfood” but wasn’t sure how to use them.

6oz Yogurt – I used greek style plain

2tbsp Chia Seeds

2/3 cup of oats

1/2 to 1 cup of milk (Depending on what consistency you like) – I used Almond milk

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and place in the fridge until morning for some lovely overnight oats.

I did add some more almond milk to make a slightly less thick consistency, and I added a tbsp of vanilla protein whey powder just before eating to up the protein level

There are so many variations of overnight oats, you can add absolutely anything, examples are:

  • Cinnamon
  • Raisins
  • Peanut butter
  • Banana’s
  • Fruit – Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries

The possibilities are endless 🙂

Workout

Today’s workout was the start of week 3 of Livefit, which is the start of the muscle-building part of the 12 week training program, and the training sessions increase to 5 times per week instead of 4 times – yikes! Also the reps have decreased to 10 instead of 12 so to increase the weight’s per exercise.

Legs

Leg Extension: 3 sets of 10 reps
Wide Stance Barbell Squat: 3 sets of 10 reps
Walking Barbell Lunge: 3 sets of 10 reps
Single-Leg Barbell Deadlift: 3 sets of 10 reps
Lying Leg Curls: 3 sets of 10 reps
Seated calf Raise: 3 sets of 10 reps
Standing Calf Raise: 3 sets of 10 reps

Q: Do you eat overnight oats?

Q: What’s your favourite recipe for overnight oats?

7 thoughts on “Overnight Oats

  1. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me says:

    I’m going to give these overnight oats a try! Thanks for the recipr 🙂

  2. citychickcountrylife says:

    How do you like the Livefit program? I started it about six weeks ago and I loved the workouts, although I found it hard in the beginning to skip the cardio-I still did some running/eliptical.

    • fitchicksoon says:

      I am enjoying the program, I am only on day 19, and boy does my body ache! I am not one for cardio on ellipticals/running machines as I find them boring, so it hasn’t affected me much with it missing 😉

      How’s the detox?

      • citychickcountrylife says:

        I’m the opposite I’m always on the elliptical but the weights are my favorite. The detox is going good, not really missing carbs anymore 🙂 Greek yogurt is like a treat and you can have two servings a day so I find that helps!

  3. […] Overnight Oats (fitchicksoon.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
